Sherine E. Gabriel, MD, MSc, became the fourth president of Rush University in February 2019 and The James A. Campbell, MD, Distinguished Service Professor. She also was named chief academic officer of Rush University System for Health. She is the first president whose role is solely focused on the university while also providing academic leadership for the health system.

Prior to joining Rush, Gabriel was the dean of Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School and CEO of the Robert Wood Johnson Medical Group in New Brunswick, N.J., as well as a distinguished professor of medicine.

Gabriel started her career at Mayo Clinic as a resident physician and continued there as a physician, researcher, educator and leader for nearly 30 years, culminating in her appointment as dean of Mayo Clinic College of Medicine in 2012. She was the William J. and Charles H. Mayo Endowed Professor and a professor of internal medicine/rheumatology and epidemiology. In addition, she served as co-principal investigator and director of education for the Mayo Clinic Center for Translational Scientific Activities in Mayo’s CTSA.

Gabriel did her undergraduate education at the University of Regina in Saskatchewan, Canada, and the College of Pharmacy at the University of Saskatchewan Medical School before earning her medical degree at the medical school. She completed her residency in internal medicine at the Mayo Graduate School of Medicine, which she followed with a fellowship in rheumatology, also at the Mayo Graduate School of Medicine.

Her additional advanced education includes a master’s in clinical epidemiology from McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario, and graduate executive education courses at the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania and the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University.

Gabriel’s research, largely funded by the National Institutes of Health, has resulted in more than 250 original, peer-reviewed publications addressing the costs, determinants and outcomes of rheumatic diseases. Her most recent research examined the risks and determinants of heart disease among rheumatoid arthritis patients.

She is a former president of the American College of Rheumatology, or ACR, and has served on many national committees, most significantly as a member of the Advisory Council of the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases at the National Institutes of Health, as chair of the FDA Drug Safety and Risk Management Committee and as founding chair of the Methodology Committee of the U.S. Government Accountability Office’s Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute.

Gabriel is the recipient of many honors and awards, including the ACR Henry Kunkel Young Investigator Award and the Mayo Clinic Distinguished Educator Award. She is also an elected member of the Association of American Physicians (the elected society of U.S. leading physician scientists).