Skip to main content

Doctor of Medicine Licensing Disclosure

Institutions are required to make public whether a program is designed to meet educational requirements for a specific professional license or certification that is required for employment in an occupation.

Institutions are required to list each state for which the curriculum (a) meets, (b) does not meet or (c) the institution has not determined if it meets the state educational requirements for licensure or certification.

For more information regarding this disclosure, please contact Jamie Cvengros, PhD, associate dean of Educational Quality, at

RUSH Medical College, accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education, satisfies all educational requirements for state licensure in the United States.

All students must pass Step 1 and Step 2 of the United States Medical Licensing Exam prior to graduation, making them eligible to take the Step 3 examination.

States may have additional licensure requirements, such as professional examinations, background checks, years of work experience or fingerprinting requirements, that are not covered by the medical school curriculum.

RUSH Medical College reviews information about educational requirements for licensure or certification regularly. However, licensure regulations are subject to change.

Students are strongly encouraged to contact their state licensing board to review all licensure and certification requirements pertaining to their state.


State Board Website Meets Requirements?
National Board Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) Yes
Alabama Alabama Board of Medical Examiners Yes
Alaska Alaska State Medical Board Yes
Arizona Arizona Medical Board Yes
Arkansas Arkansas State Medical Board Yes
California Medical Board of California Yes
Colorado Colorado Medical Board Yes
Connecticut Connecticut Medical Examining Board Yes
Delaware Delaware Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline Yes
District of Columbia District of Columbia Board of Medicine Yes
Florida Florida Board of Medicine Yes
Georgia Georgia Composite Medical Board Yes
Hawaii Hawaii Medical Board Yes
Idaho Idaho Board of Medicine Yes
Illinois Illinois Division of Professional Regulation Yes
Indiana Medical Licensing Board of Indiana Yes
Iowa Iowa Board of Medicine Yes
Kansas Kansas State Board of Healing Arts Yes
Kentucky Kentucky Board of Medical Licensure Yes
Louisiana Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners Yes
Maine Maine Board of Licensure in Medicine Yes
Maryland Maryland Board of Physicians Yes
Massachusetts Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine Yes
Michigan Michigan Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Yes
Minnesota Minnesota Board of Medical Practice Yes
Mississippi Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure Yes
Missouri Missouri Board of Registration for the Healing Arts Yes
Montana Montana Board of Medical Examiners Yes
Nebraska Nebraska Board of Medicine and Surgery Yes
Nevada Nevada State Board of Medical Examiners Yes
New Hampshire New Hampshire Board of Medicine Yes
New Jersey New Jersey State Board of Medical Examiners Yes
New Mexico New Mexico Medical Board Yes
New York New York State Board for Medicine (Licensure) Yes
North Carolina North Carolina Medical Board Yes
North Dakota North Dakota Board of Medicine Yes
Ohio State Medical Board of Ohio Yes
Oklahoma Oklahoma State Medical Board of Licensure and Supervision Yes
Oregon Oregon Medical Board Yes
Pennsylvania Pennsylvania State Board of Medicine Yes
Rhode Island Rhode Island Board of Medical Licensure and Discipline Yes
South Carolina South Carolina Board of Medical Examiners Yes
Tennessee Tennessee Board of Medical Examiners Yes
Texas Texas Medical Board Yes
Utah Utah Physicians and Surgeons Licensing Board Yes
Vermont Vermont Board of Medical Practice Yes
Virginia Virginia Board of Medicine Yes
Washington Washington Medical Commission Yes
West Virginia West Virginia Board of Medicine Yes
Wisconsin Wisconsin Medical Examining Board Yes
Wyoming Wyoming Board of Medicine Yes

Last updated: October 1, 2022