Skip to main content

Department of Internal Medicine Leadership Team

The Department of Internal Medicine is led by many nationally and internationally respected experts.

Department leaders

Jochen Reiser, MD, PhD

Scott Hasler, MD
Vice Chairperson, Education

Vineet Gupta, PhD
Vice Chairperson, Innovation

Alan Landay, PhD
Vice Chairperson, Research

Monnie Wasse, MD, MPH 
Vice Chairperson, Operations

Suja Mathews, MD
Department Liaison for Stroger Hospital

Alan Harris, MD
Director of Academic Affairs

Scott Hasler, MD
Vice Chair of Education

Division Chiefs 

Allergy & Immunology

Mahboobeh Mahdavinia, MD, PhD
Division Chief


Faisal Hasan, MD, FACC, FSCAI
Division Chief, Clinical Operations

Community and Global Health Equity 

Stephanie Crane, MD
Division Chief

Digestive Diseases and Nutrition

Irving Waxman, MD
Division Chief

Mark DeMeo, MD
Section Chief - Gastroenterology

Nancy Reau, MD 
Section Chief - Hepatology

Kumar Rajan, PhD
Section Chief - Community Epidemiology

Endocrinology and Metabolism

Brian Kim, MD
Division Chief

General Internal Medicine

Laura Zimmermann, MD
Division Chief

Geriatrics, Gerontology and Palliative Medicine

Magdalena Bednarczyk, MD
Section Chief - Geriatrics

Sean O'Mahony, MB, BCh, BAO
Section Chief - Palliative Medicine

Hematology, Oncology and Cell Therapy

Timothy Kuzel, MD
Division Chief

Hospital Medicine

Christopher Bruti, MD
Division Chief

Infectious Diseases

Mary Hayden, MD
Division Chief

Nephrology and Nephrology Transplantation

Monnie Wasse, MD, MPH
Division Chief

Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine

Babak Mokhlesi, MD
Division Chief


Joel Block, MD
Division Chief