Department of Internal Medicine Leadership Team

The Department of Internal Medicine is led by many nationally and internationally respected experts.

Department leaders

Jochen Reiser, MD, PhD

Scott Hasler, MD
Vice Chairperson, Education

Vineet Gupta, PhD
Vice Chairperson, Innovation

Alan Landay, PhD
Vice Chairperson, Research

Monnie Wasse, MD, MPH
Vice Chairperson, Operations

Suja Mathews, MD
Department Liaison for Stroger Hospital

Alan Harris, MD
Director of Academic Affairs

Scott Hasler, MD
Director of Residency Program

Division chiefs and administrators

Allergy & Immunology

Mahboobeh Mahdavinia, MD, PhD
Division Chief


Kim A. Williams, Sr., MD, FACC
Division Chief

Community and Global Health Equity 

Stephanie Crane, MD
Division Chief

Digestive Diseases 

Ali Keshavarzian, MD
Division Chief

Endocrinology and Metabolism

Brian Kim, MD

Division Chief

General Internal Medicine

Daniel Dunham, MD, MPH
Division Chief

Geriatrics, Gerontology and Palliative Medicine

Magdalena Bednarczyk, MD
Section Chief - Geriatrics

Sean O’Mahony, MB, BCh, BAO
Section Chief - Palliative Medicine

Hematology, Oncology and Cell Therapy

Timothy Kuzel, MD
Division Chief

Hospital Medicine

Suparna Dutta, MD, MS, MPH
Division Chief

Infectious Diseases

Mary Hayden, MD
Division Chief

Nephrology and Nephrology Transplantation

Vasil Peev, MD
Interim Division Chief

Pulmonary, Critical Care Medicine and Sleep Medicine

Robert Balk, MD
Division Chief


Joel Block, MD
Division Chief