Leadership Team

The Department of Surgery is led by many nationally and internationally respected experts.

Department Leaders

Alfonso Torquati, MD, MSCI, FACS

Keith Millikan, MD
Senior Vice Chair
Vice Chair, Education

Anuja Antony, MD
Vice Chair, Academic Affairs

Theodore J. Saclarides, MD
Vice Chair, Network Surgery

Jonathan Myers, MD
Vice Chair, Clinical Operations

Philip Omotosho, MD
Vice Chair, Quality and Clinical Effectiveness

M. Saleem Bhat, PhD
Vice Chair, Research

Shaista Khan Chatterji, MHA
Department Administrator

Division Chiefs

Division of Abdominal Transplantation
Dana M. Hayden, MD, MPH
Division of Colon and Rectal Surgery

Keith W. Millikan, MD

Division of General Surgery


Philip Omotosho, MD
Division of MIS and Bariatric Surgery
Amir H. Dorafshar, MBChB
Division of Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery
Srikumar B. Pillai, MD
Division of Pediatric Surgery
Sam G. Pappas, MD
Division of Surgical Oncology 
Edward E. Cherullo, MD
Division of Urology



Edie Y. Chan, MD
Program Director, General Surgery Residency Program

Deana Shenaq, MD
Program Director, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Residency Program

Christopher Coogan, MD
Program Director, Urology Residency Program

Ami Shah, MD
Co-director, MS Clerkship

Benjamin Veenstra, MD
Co-director, MS Clerkship

Dana Hayden, MD
Director, Research

Jose Velasco, MD
Director, Surgical Innovation

Naomi Parrella, MD, FAAFP, Dipl. ABOM
Chief of Lifestyle Medicine
Medical Director, Center for Weight Loss & Lifestyle Medicine
Director, Strategic Development and Implementation

Daniel J. Deziel, MD
Department Liasion to Stroger Hospital


Rosalinda Alvarado, MD
Diversity Officer