Dermatology Residency

Donor Recognition

The dermatology residency is a three-year training program, fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education and the American Board of Dermatology.

With nine full-time and nine part-time volunteer faculty members, our staff-to-trainee ratio offers residents a highly personalized training experience. Our faculty are dedicated to helping residents build a strong foundation in all aspects of dermatology.

Our curriculum utilizes experiential learning, as well as deliberate and reflective practices to build competence in the diagnosis, pathogenesis (including histopathology and immunopathology), treatment and prevention of skin diseases. 

How to apply

We accept two residents each year via the annual National Resident Matching Program.

Basic requirements for the dermatology residency follow guidelines of the American Board of Dermatology and include the following:

  • Satisfactory completion of the (PGY-1) level transitional or preliminary year in internal medicine, general surgery, family practice, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, or emergency medicine at a board-approved, accredited U.S. or Canadian medical school
  • A valid license to practice medicine in the State of Illinois.

The application process is handled via the Electronic Residency Application Service website in conjunction with the Association of American Colleges. Please contact your medical school dean’s office for processing instructions and to request an ERAS electronic token for access to MyEras. 

Rush participates in the standardized interview offer date initiative sponsored by the Association of Professors of Dermatology.  

Selected candidates will be invited for interviews scheduled for dates in January 2023.

For more information, please contact the dermatology residency coordinator at (312) 563-4336. You may also find additional information through the American Medical Association’s FREIDA program.


@RushDermatology: Follow us here for more information!