Rush Medical Students Inducted Into Gold Humanism Honor Society

Tuesday, September 29, 2015

In August the Rush Medical College chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society inducted 17 medical students into its ranks. These students were selected by their classmates and vetted by faculty and administration for attitudes and behaviors that come from a deep sensitivity and respect for others, including full acceptance of all cultural and ethnic backgrounds, and exemplifying the core values of humanism in medicine. These values include integrity, compassion, altruism, respect, empathy, service and clinical excellence. 

The Gold Humanism Honor Society is an initiative of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation. The society comprises more than 19,000 medical students, residents and physicians across the country. Rush hosts a chapter in which candidates are nominated by fellow students in the fourth year of studies. Earlier this year, Rush GHHS members took part in National Solidarity Day for Compassionate Patient Care, in which they helped patients tell more of their own personal story to better humanize them in the eyes of medical center staff.

This year’s induction ceremony was led by Maria Brown, DO, the GHHS faculty advisor, associate professor of family medicine and past Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award winner. Other Tow Humanism Award winners who participated in the induction ceremony included Rush’s Paul Kent, MD; William Schwer, MD; Viju John, MD; and Elizabeth Van Opstal, MD. 

The following students were inducted into the GHHS:

  • Adam Barsella
  • Kohldon Boydston
  • Jeremy Chapman
  • Fahad Chaus
  • Peter Cote
  • Danielle Crawford
  • Erik Escuro
  • Karl Godlewski
  • Benjamin Golden
  • Brian Johnson
  • Amir Mohamed
  • Andrew Park
  • Vincent Rossi
  • Joseph Santamaria
  • Jori Sheade
  • Brittany Stern
  • Maura Walsh