Skip to main content

RUSH Emergency Chair Elected to National Academy of Medicine

A portrait of Theodore Corbin.

Theodore Corbin, MD, MPP, chairperson of the RUSH University Medical Center Department of Emergency Medicine, has been elected as a new member of the prestigious National Academy of Medicine.

Corbin, one of 100 new members elected to the academy, was selected for his national leadership in firearm injury and community violence prevention.

“I am deeply humbled and honored to join the National Academy of Medicine and proud to play a role as this influential institution addresses the healthcare impact gun violence has on our nation’s health,” Corbin said.

“The result of firearm related injuries have overtaken all other causes of death for our nation’s children and impose overwhelming trauma to and in our communities. NAM can and will be a powerful voice for change.” 

An emergency medicine physician, Corbin has for years worked to treat and heal the physical damage of gunshot wounds. He also has been recognized as an innovative national leader in developing programs like Healing Hurt People that address the emotional and psychological trauma caused by gun violence. 

And as he explains in the essay “Racial Trauma: Another Consequence of Gun Violence,” researchers are better understanding how entire communities where gun violence is common — not just who have been shot — can be traumatized. That’s especially true in predominantly Black and brown urban neighborhoods that are “dealing not only with routine exposure to gun violence but also with the daily wounds of discrimination and bias.” 

Corbin already has been working with academy leaders and members to detail and advocate for gun violence prevention strategies that address such societal causes. 

“Gun violence is everybody’s problem, and it won’t go away until public and private organizations address racial trauma by investing in our communities,” Corbin said. “I’m honored to work with my now fellow NAM members to help accelerate progress.” 

Established in 1970, the National Academy of Medicine addresses critical issues in health, science, medicine and related policy. It has more than 2,400 members elected in recognition of professional achievement and commitment to volunteer service.