Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Nurses Alumni Association

Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Nursing Alumni Association

The Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke’s Nurses Alumni Association celebrates our alumni from St. Luke’s Hospital Training School for Nurses, Presbyterian Hospital School of Nursing, Presbyterian-St. Luke’s School of Nursing and Rush University College of Nursing.

Read the Year in Review to learn more about the association’s work on behalf of the alumni community.

Preparing future nurses, advancing the college

The mission of the association is to support Rush University College of Nursing in producing highly prepared nurses while promoting the college and its alumni as innovative leaders in nursing education, practice, research and service.

The association’s Board of Directors represents all nursing graduates and works to prioritize and strengthen the college’s strategic areas. Association leaders are nominated and elected by members of the alumni association biennially.

Learn more about the expectations and what you can expect from Rush as a board member.

Meet our 2016-2018 Board of Directors

Marilyn K. Wideman, DNP, RN-BC, FAAN (DNP ‘07), President

Rachel E. Start, RN, MSN, NE-BC (BSN ‘98, MSN ‘11), Vice President

Jeanne M. Blundy, BSN, RN (Pres.-St. Luke’s ‘66), Secretary/Treasurer

Marcia P. Murphy, DNP, ANP, FAHA, FPCNA (MSN ‘80, Cert. ‘97, DNP ‘07), Immediate Past President

Frederick Brown, DNP, RN, NE-BC (BSN ‘89, MSN ‘94, DNP ‘06), Member at Large

Melissa Browning, DNP, APRN, CCNS, LSSGB  (DNP ‘09), Member at Large

Jennifer Cooper, DNP, RN, APHN-BC (MSN ‘11, DNP ‘16), Member at Large

Eileen M. Dwyer, RN, MS (MSN ‘91), Member at Large

Wende Fedder, DNP, MBA, RN, FAHA (DNP ‘11), Member at Large

Ingrid Forsberg, DNP, APN-C (Pres.-St. Luke’s ‘65, DNP ‘16), Member at Large

Tanya Friese, DNP, RN, CNL, USN (Ret.) (BSN ‘05, MSN ‘10, DNP ‘14), Member at Large

Paul Henderson, CRNA (CRNA ‘79), Member at Large

Tammi Jones, DNP, MS, RN, CENP (DNP ‘15), Member at Large

Gregory A. Murphy, RN, MBA (BSN ‘88), Member at Large

Kelly Podgorny, DNP, MS, CPHQ, CPHQ (DNP ‘11), Member at Large

Gail M. Johnson Schauer, BSN, RN (Pres.-St. Luke’s ‘66), Member at Large

Alumni association strategic plan

In 2017 the Board of Directors developed a three-year strategic plan to help guide its work. Through conversations with college administration, an alumni survey and focus groups, the board identified three priority areas. From this work, the board developed a comprehensive three-year plan focused on the following:

  • Strengthening alumni pride
  • Supporting the college
  • Engaging current nursing students

Golden Lamp Society

The Alumni Association established the Golden Lamp Society in 1973 as the donor recognition society for individuals and families who support nursing education and research at Rush with annual gifts of $300 or more. It is named in honor of Florence Nightingale, a pioneer of modern nursing, education and philanthropy. It was her tireless dedication to her parents that earned her the title “The Lady with the Lamp.”

Join the Golden Lamp Society today.


Support nursing alumni and student programs

Looking for more Rush alumni information?