Skip to main content

Two Faculty Members Receive Nursing's Highest Honor

Two Faculty Members Receive Nursing's Highest Honor

Selected for their extraordinary individual accomplishments, two faculty members from Rush University College of Nursing were inducted as 2019 fellows to the American Academy of Nursing. Susan Buchholz, PhD, RN, and Sarah Livesay, DNP, APRN, were honored at the academy’s induction ceremony on October 26 at the Marriott Marquis in Washington, D.C.

The American Academy of Nursing's approximately 2,400 fellows are nursing leaders in education, management, practice and research. They include association executives; university presidents, chancellors and deans; state and federal political appointees; hospital chief executives and vice presidents for nursing; nurse consultants; and researchers and entrepreneurs.

Fellowship in the academy is not only a recognition of one's individual accomplishments within the nursing profession, but is also a responsibility to contribute time and energies to the academy, and to engage with other health leaders outside the academy in transforming America's health system by doing the following:

  • Enhancing the quality of health and nursing
  • Promoting healthy aging and human development across the life continuum
  • Reducing health disparities and inequalities
  • Shaping healthy behaviors and environments
  • Integrating mental and physical health
  • Strengthening the nursing and health delivery system nationally and internationally

Learn more about the American Academy of Nursing Fellows.