Rush University President Sherine Gabriel Honored with the National Medical Fellowships’ Excellence in Medical Education Award

Tuesday, November 26, 2019

Sherine E. Gabriel, MD, MSc, president of Rush University, was honored with the National Medical Fellowships’ Excellence in Medical Education Award at the Champions of Health Awards.

The Excellence in Medical Education Award recognizes an outstanding medical educator who has demonstrated exceptional teaching skill and has served as a role model and mentor to other clinicians, residents or medical students. Each year, National Medical Fellowships hosts the Champions of Health Awards to honor people who have made a lasting impact on health care.

“I am honored to be recognized by an organization that has done so much to empower so many talented physicians and health professionals – underrepresented in medicine — to contribute to the health of our nation and to advance health equity,” Dr. Gabriel said.

Dr. Gabriel joined Rush in February as University president and chief academic officer for Rush University System for Health. She is the first president whose role is focused on the University while also providing academic leadership for the health system.

“Dr. Gabriel has impressed everyone as someone committed to the highest standards and values in health care,” said Dr. Esther Dyer, president and CEO of National Medical Fellowships, which since 2010 has awarded more than $250,000 to 28 Rush University students, including 10 current medical college students. “Her role as an educator, researcher and clinician is inspiring to our young scholars.”

Gabriel is a nationally recognized leader, educator, physician and researcher. Before coming to Rush, she most recently was the dean of Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School and is a former dean of Mayo Medical School.

Gabriel’s research, largely funded by the National Institutes of Health, has resulted in more than 250 original, peer-reviewed publications addressing the costs, determinants and outcomes of rheumatic diseases.

She is a former president of the American College of Rheumatology (ACR) and has served on many national committees, most significantly as a member of the Advisory Council of the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases at the National Institutes of Health, as chair of the FDA Drug Safety and Risk Management Committee and as founding chair of the Methodology Committee of the U.S. Government Accountability Office’s Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute.

Dr. Gabriel, the Robert C. and Naomi T. Borwell Presidential Professor, is the recipient of many honors and awards, including the following: the ACR Henry Kunkel Young Investigator Award and the Mayo Clinic Distinguished Educator Award. She is also an elected member of the Association of American Physicians (the elected society of leading physician scientists).

About Rush University

Rush University, the academic enterprise of Rush University Medical Center, is a health sciences university with more than 2,700 students that comprises Rush Medical College, the College of Nursing, the College of Health Sciences and the Graduate College.