Rush Nurses Will Receive Four International Awards

Thursday, August 1, 2013

Out of a global community of nurse leaders throughout 486 chapters in more than 85 countries, Rush nurses were selected to receive four of the 2013 International Awards for Nursing Excellence from Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). The International Awards for Nursing Excellence recognize achievements in the fields of technology, media, chapter excellence, research and leadership.

Lynne T. Braun, PhD, CNP, FAHA, FAAN, professor at Rush University College of Nursing, was selected for the Marie Hippensteel Lingeman Award for Excellence in Nursing Practice. This award is categorized as a Founders Award – giving tribute to the six founding nurses of STTI and the director of nursing at Indiana University for their insights in 1922 that advanced scholarship, leadership, research and practice. The Founders Award recognizes extraordinary excellence, and is the highest honor bestowed by STTI.

Paula Meier, PhD, RN, FAAN, professor at Rush University College of Nursing was selected for the Audrey Hepburn Award for Contributions to the Health and Welfare of Children for her extraordinary research and practice with women, babies and their families to ensure breastfeeding among the most vulnerable children. This award was established in 1993 to honor Hepburn’s extraordinary work on behalf of children in need and is presented each biennium to a nurse who has made significant contributions to the health and well-being of children.

The Rush Professional Nursing Staff, under the leadership of past-presidents Benson Wright, MSN, RN, and Erik McIntosh, MSN, APRN, will receive the Clinical Partnership Award - Academic Medical Center. This award honors a clinical facility or nursing unit that has demonstrated commitment in promoting quality in health care, promoting professional nursing as demonstrated by the development of nurse leaders and has shown excellence in health care outcomes. For the Rush Professional Nursing Staff, this award recognizes the impact that 30 years of strong shared governance can have on nursing excellence, patient outcomes and professional development for nurses.

A Rush team consisting of Patty Nedved, MSN, CENP, associate vice president, Professional Nursing Practice at Rush, Lisa Swiontek, MBA, RN, assistant vice president, IS, Robert Narowski, BSN, RN, director, IS, Julio Silva, MD, CMIO, and Deborah Gardiner, MS, RN, service line administrator, will receive the Clinical Technology Award. This award recognizes developers who have successfully developed and implemented a clinical nursing application that assists nurses in the delivery of quality nursing care. The Rush team built a nursing-driven protocol in the Electronic Health Record that that prompts nurses to perform an assessment consistently and with limited variability to ensure comprehensive screening on 100 percent of inpatients related to influenza and pneumococcal vaccination. This process increased global vaccination core measure performance in the Medical Center, where nurses have true ownership of the process and have been able to demonstrate success by leveraging existing technology to develop meaningful tools and reports.

Award recipients will be honored at The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International’s 42nd Biennial Convention on November 18, 2013 in Indianapolis, Indiana.