Mentoring Profile: Kerry Ebert, PhD, CCC-SLP, College of Health Sciences

Jan. 29, 2018

The Rush Women Mentoring Program fosters professional development and a sense of community and collaboration among women faculty at Rush University. In this series, we highlight program mentors and mentees and learn more about how mentoring has impacted them.

Kerry Ebert, PhD, CCC-SLP, associate professor and speech-language pathologist in the Department of Communication Disorders and Sciences, College of Health Sciences, joined Rush in 2011.

Tell us about your background.

I am an associate professor and speech-language pathologist in the Department of Communication Disorders and Sciences. I teach graduate student coursework in children’s speech and language disorders, perform outpatient speech-language assessment and treatment services, and conduct research on language disorders and their treatment in monolingual and bilingual children.

What inspired you to get into your field?

I was interested in language and became a computational linguist. But I didn’t like working with computers all day, so I pursued a master’s degree in speech-language pathology. I practiced clinically and then returned for a PhD.

What excites you about your work at Rush?

I was attracted to Rush’s teacher-practitioner model and the ability to continue to practice what I had been teaching and researching.

What is your opinion of mentoring and sponsorship?

Mentoring works best when there is a good match between the mentor and the mentee, which can be hard to achieve. Setting and sticking to a regular meeting or contact schedule is also key.  Otherwise, busy schedules seem to get in the way of a successful mentoring relationship.

Do you have tips or advice you would recommend for someone looking to enter your field of work?

Keep looking for ways to grow; there are lots of them out there.

What are your hobbies? How do you like to spend your free time?

With young children and a full-time faculty job, I don’t have much free time. I spend most of my time outside of work with my children and my husband. I also enjoy keeping fit; I used to compete in triathlons, but I am pretty much limited to running only a few races these days.