Marquis Foreman Named Dean of Rush University’s College of Nursing

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Marquis D. Foreman, PhD, RN, has been appointed as the fourth John L. and Helen Kellogg Dean of the College of Nursing at Rush University. His appointment is effective September 5.

Foreman, a distinguished academic nursing scholar and leader, was chosen after a national search of outstanding candidates to fill a role at Rush that started as the first endowed nursing deanship in the country.

“We are extremely pleased that Dr. Foreman has agreed to lead the College of Nursing during the next phase of its growth and during this exciting time of strategic planning for Rush University,” says Larry Goodman, MD, president of Rush University and CEO of Rush University Medical Center. “In addition to his many scholarly accomplishments, Mark Foreman has been recognized as a leader who is known for empowering his team, effectively mentoring others and for being a true role model of collaboration. These skills are those we most seek in leaders at Rush.”

Foreman currently serves as a professor in the College of Nursing and was previously the college’s executive associate dean for academic affairs. He has been acting dean of the College of Nursing since January 2014.

Prior to his role as executive associate dean, Foreman was chair of the Department of Adult Health and Gerontological Nursing from 2008 to 2012 and previously had been professor and associate dean for nursing science studies at the University of Illinois at Chicago’s College of Nursing.

Foreman received his bachelor’s and later a master’s from the University of Toledo, Ohio. He later received his doctorate from the University of Illinois at Chicago and also completed a postdoctoral fellowship there.

“Mark Foreman is an accomplished researcher who has demonstrated expert leadership as principal or co-principal investigator of numerous National Institutes of Health-funded projects, most recently in the field of robotic assistants for the elderly,” says Thomas Deutsch, MD, provost of Rush University.

Foreman has published more than 75 articles and dozens of book chapters, abstracts and reviews, and he has served in a leadership capacity in several professional organizations.

“I am privileged to be here at Rush,” Foreman says. “The college has been a national leader in nursing education since 1885, when the College’s first antecedent, the St. Luke’s Hospital Training School of Nursing, opened to offer diploma education to nurses. I am honored to join such a preeminent faculty of nursing as we raise the global standard for nursing.”

In 1903, the Presbyterian Hospital School of Nursing accepted its first students. From 1956 to 1968, nurses were taught at the merged Presbyterian-St. Luke’s School of Nursing. More than 7,000 nurses graduated from these schools before Rush’s current College of Nursing was established in 1972.

Today, the college is ranked No. 15 out of 467 graduate nursing schools in the country by US News & World Report, including six specialties ranked in the top 10. In addition, well over 7,000 bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral students have graduated from Rush University College of Nursing. The first bachelor’s and master’s degrees were awarded in 1975; the first doctor of nursing science degree was awarded in 1980; and the first practice doctorate was awarded in 1990.

Students in current nursing programs are offered from the master’s through the doctoral (DNP and PhD) levels. The generalist entry master’s program is the pre-licensure program for entry into registered nurse practice. The college is  home to many distinguished faculty, including 18 American Academy of Nursing fellows, four Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Executive Nurse Fellows, a Macy Foundation Scholar, the president-elect of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing (STTI) and two inductees to STTI’s International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame. In 2013, the college’s faculty produced 98 peer-reviewed publications.