Welcome from Our Chairman


The Department of Anesthesiology at Rush University, located in the heart of the Illinois Medical District, offers a highly sophisticated and comprehensive training program in a high-quality tertiary-care setting, where all aspects of anesthetic care are delivered. Rush’s Anesthesiology Residency program has long been recognized as providing an outstanding and extensive experience in all subspecialty areas, with exposure to solid organ transplants, major neurosurgical and spinal surgery, tertiary obstetrics, and critical care medicine.

In addition to rotations at the university campus, residents also rotate to the Skokie Hospital and Evanston Hospital, facilities of the NorthShore University HealthSystem. A rotation at Lurie Children’s Hospital provides additional outstanding pediatric anesthesia training. Overall, considering all clinical sites, approximately 60,000 cases are available for training. Experience in one of the country’s most active pain centers rounds out our residents’ clinical training. The Department of Anesthesiology provides acute and chronic pain management services for more than 12,000 patients annually in both the perioperative and non-operative settings.

A fellowship experience is offered for those residents seeking additional training in pain medicine, and subspecialty tracks are also available in cardiac, obstetric, critical care, neurosurgical and ambulatory anesthesia. Anesthesia faculty are engaged in research and a well-organized didactic curriculum. The Anesthesiology Residency program prepares our trainees for American Board of Anesthesiology certification as a consultant in anesthesiology and perioperative medicine and insures that our graduates are well-qualified for clinical practice, either in the university or the community setting.

I invite you to learn more about our department by reading about our medical student education, our research, and our postgraduate training programs in anesthesiology and pain medicine.


Kenneth J. Tuman, MD

Professor and Chairperson
Department of Anesthesiology