Rush University Banner Rush University Rush University Medical Center Contact Us
Rush University Banner

Information for Faculty > Faculty Organizations and Groups > Rush University Chapter of Sigma Xi > About the Sigma Xi Rush Chapter
About Rush University

Sigma Xi (Xi is pronounced with a "Z" sound-"Zi"-as in "xylophone") was founded in 1886 to honor excellence in scientific investigation and encourage a sense of companionship and cooperation among researchers in all fields of science and engineering. The Greek letters "sigma" and "xi" form the acronym of the Society's motto, "Spoudon Xynones," which translates as "Companions in Zealous Research."

This year the society is celebrating 125 years of service and networking among scientists. The chapter was chartered July 1, 1973—a year after the University was founded. Rush University is commemorating its 40th anniversary during the 2011 - 12 academic year.

Former Sigma Xi presidents include:

Dr. Thomas F. Lint

Dr. Mark E. Peeples

Dr. Juergen A. Mollenhaur

Dr. James Michael Kerns

Dr. Thomas Michael Schmid

Dr. Hazel Lum

Dr. Gabriella Cs-Szabo

Dr. Arthur V. Prancan

Dr. Mary Beth Newman

Dr. Alejandro A. Espinoza Orias

Contact us by email at
Contact information is also available at the national Sigma Xi organization website.

Rush Medical College | College of Nursing | Graduate College | College of Health Sciences | Library | GME
CME | Calendar of Events | Web Privacy Statement | Accessibility Statement | Students with Disabilities | Site Map
Students | Faculty | Researchers | Alumni | Residents & Fellows

© Rush University, Chicago, Illinois