College of Health Sciences: Overview

The College of Health Sciences, founded in 1975, is responsible for education and research in the allied health professions, including health care management. Rush University educates students as practitioners, scientists, teachers and leaders. The College of Health Sciences, as an integral component of Rush University, seeks to prepare superb allied health practitioners and leaders to provide the very best care for our patients. In addition, the College makes meaningful and significant contributions to advancing health care through research, scholarship, service and practice.

The College of Health Sciences offers programs in fourteen different professional areas housed within ten academic departments. The College includes the departments of Clinical Sciences (Physician Assistant Studies and Perfusion Technology); Clinical Nutrition; Communication Disorders and Sciences; Health Systems Management; Medical Laboratory Science; Medical Physics; Occupational Therapy; Religion, Health and Human Values; Respiratory Care; and Vascular Ultrasound and Technology. Programs and degrees offered within the College include the doctor of audiology (AuD); clinical laboratory sciences (BS, MS); clinical nutrition (MS); clinical pastoral education (certificate); health systems management (MS); imaging sciences (BS); medical physics (MS); occupational therapy (MS); perfusion technology (BS, MS); physician assistant studies (MS); respiratory care (BS, MS); speech-language pathology (MS); and vascular ultrasound technology (BS). Through the Division of Health Sciences within the Rush Graduate College, the PhD in Health Sciences is offered.


The organization of the College of Health Sciences centers around departments and programs, each headed by a department chairperson and program director who reports to the College dean.

The senior administrative and policy body of the College is the Chair's Council, made up of the chairpersons from each of the College's departments, and a representative from the Faculty Council. The senior representative body of the College is the Faculty Council, comprised of two faculty members elected from each department. Meetings of the Faculty Council are ordinarily held quarterly. Faculty may propose agenda items, and guests are welcome by invitation.

Alumni Activities

Outstanding educational programs have outstanding alumni and the College encourages the development of strong ties with its graduates. All graduates are considered alumni of Rush University College of Health Sciences. No dues are levied for membership in the College alumni association. In addition, each of the programs in the College of Health Sciences has an individual program alumni organization.

Further information about the College of Health Sciences can be obtained by contacting the Dean's Office at:

College of Health Sciences Dean's Office
Rush University
600 South Paulina Street
Suite 1006 Armour Academic Center
Chicago, IL 60612-1832
Tel: (312) 942-7120
Fax: (312) 942-2100